Tosin’s Thursday Thoughts||Enjoying Your Own Company

Hello lovelies. How’s your week going?
Happy Ramadan all my Moslem peeps and happy Holidays!

So I read somewhere that the true test of who you really are is who you are when you are completely alone.

For introverts(P.S I’m not one) being in your company is quite normal and energising and can easily be enjoyed but for extroverts I doubt it.I think it’s actually necessary to spend time alone as it makes space for your real thoughts to come through.

I know we’re in the century where not attending weddings or parties or not even turning up on Friday nights can be referred to as anti-social and weird, I have also discovered that majority of these “weirdos” are the world’s most creative people.

It makes you depend less on people for happiness which was a mistake I made at a point in my life but when the person wanted out, I realised all “happiness” left.

It’s okay..perfectly okay to enjoy the company of your friends for those who have lots of friends or the few ones we have for those of us who have few friends.
Here are a few tips that have helped me enjoy my own company :

●Lone restaurant outings
image

Haha yeah I’ve done this a couple of times and trust me the first few times sure felt weird as I was so conscious of everything. From the way I chewed to wondering if people felt I was lonely for coming here alone to so many other things but subsequently I got over all these and became more comfortable with it.

●Going to the movies alone.
image

Like I do this basically most of the time because for one.. I do not have the same taste in movies as most of my friends. While they are always about the action type of movie.. (I wonder why I’d pay money to come scare myself in a dark room) hence I go for the romantic/chic kindof movies and sometimes for Nigerian movies yea.. I know but once the lights in the cinemas are dimmed and my sharwama in one hand and fanta in the other.. I can easily lose myself into the plot on the large screen.
Trust me, this one isn’t bad AT ALL.

●Taking walks alone.
image

Well I haven’t done this a lot, but the few times I did wasn’t bad experience at all. I mean with your ears plugged and the appropriate weather,you should definitely have a good one on this and I’ll definitely be doing this more often.

●Meditating

image

This doesn’t necessarily imply having to do the yoga and all of that but simply taking out time to think.
I think almost everyone must have done this at some point in their lives. I think it’s quite necessary as it can help you tap into your creative power and discover different things you didn’t know about yourself.
So, there you have it..

Have you tried any of these tips before? Is there any other tip that can help enjoy one’s company? Feel free to drop your thoughts in the comment box below.
(P.S: All images featured in this particular blog post are not mine and were gotten from Google)

Till soon. Toeseene

25 thoughts on “Tosin’s Thursday Thoughts||Enjoying Your Own Company

  1. It’s sad for me sometimes 😳. There’s this book I read the lady kept saying “I’m lone and lorn”. Lol that’s how solo outings make me feel like. But yea, i do those too

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol the things i do when by myself tho…that’s when people tap into the inner craze cos they know no one (except God tho 😄) is watching. It’s cool to have some me-time, like alone time at the spa, just go by yourself and not with people that’ll keep your mouth and mind running at the speed of light lol.

    Like

  3. I am an introvert and I enjoy my own company to the point that it’s now a problem, I think this arose from me being an only child for over a decade. Some people do not actually understand that I prefer to do most things alone. It’s not like I’m anti-social (maybe a bit, lol), I can be very playful and talkative when I’m with people I like. I am now making conscious effort to relate better with others and actually enjoy it. Lovely article

    Like

  4. You’re right about not depending on people, it was a lesson I learnt a long time and now I enjoy my company well and prioritize myself, others might see it as being self centered but it’s not and it’s great for my soul.
    Great tips

    https://funkeolotu.com

    Like

  5. Reading a book helps me clear my head a lot of times and yeah taking long evening walk is simply ahmazingggg……beautiful piece

    Like

  6. Saw a comment with “introverted extrovert” lol I just hope it z a thing cos I am one too. Ders nothing lyk enjoying ur own company. I haven’t tried eating out alone or goin to d movies alone before bcos m alone most of d tym, nd d only tym I get to go out I can’t afford to do it alone haba lol I just feel it z more fun with company, shud try it one day tho nd see how it z lyk. My dear, we are creative o lol I get my designs from sitting alone in my room. Atyms I vex sef dat why can’t I claim I get inspiration from blah nd blah lyk oda fashion designers do beht I just sketch out designs from sitting on my bed doin nothing. U’re doin a great job boo, m proud of u 😘 kip it up 👍 nd den, enjoying ur own company just stamps d fact dat u don’t need anybody to be happy. Ok I think I’m talking too much, bye.

    Like

  7. nice post hunnay. Being on my own is fun most times, i just love the peace dat comes with it but then sometimes i just wantu b around lotta pple nd av fun.. i might just be an introverted extrovert.

    Like

Tell me what you think